Friday, May 13, 2005

Feel free to copy, there is no copyright on an Anoneumouse montage. (click on image to enlarge)

Latin America rejects EU Constitution

ALADI concerned with Falklands EU inclusion. The Latin American Integration Association, the twelve member organization seated in Montevideo points out that the EU attitude “ignores the existence of a sovereignty dispute recognized by the United Nations and the Organization of American States”, between Argentina and the United Kingdom.

Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, Chile, Cuba, Ecuador, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. State that, the inclusion of the Falkland Islands, South Georgia and South Sandwich islands in the European Union constitutional treaty is of “great concern”

Resolution 291 referring to Argentine austral insular territories was unanimously approved by ALADI members, extending a “forceful support to the legitimate rights of Argentina over those islands”, said an Argentine spokesperson. The resolution also calls on both sides to find a quick solution to the long standing dispute.

The Argentine government claims that the South Atlantic islands currently under British sovereignty, have been included in the Annex II, Title IV, Part III of the EU Constitutional Treaty which was signed October 29, 2004.

See:- Argentina rejects EU Constitution Here



Post a comment

<< Home

Listed on BlogShares