Friday, April 29, 2005

Feel free to copy, there is no copyright on an Anoneumouse montage. (click on image to enlarge)

Argentina rejects EU Constitution

Argentina officially rejected the inclusion of the Falkland Islands, South Georgia and South Sandwich islands as “British Antarctic Territory” in the European Union Constitutional Treaty and has informed European institutions of its “reservations” about the case.

Argentina Foreign Minister Rafael Bielsa said "We are perturbed, we reject this thoroughly, but it is not a new issue and we will have to fight about it for years to come,"

According to Title IV of Part III of the European Constitution, extra continental territories belonging to Denmark, France, Netherlands and United Kingdom, as well as Antarctic areas, are recognized as areas of EU constitutional sovereignty. In Part III-286 Annex II Falkland Islands, South Georgia, South Sandwich and British Antarctic territories come under the description of “EU countries and overseas territories”, which apparently is further confirmed in Part IV-440.

Part III-286 says that “Non European countries and territories which have special relations with Denmark, France, Netherlands and the United Kingdom shall be associated with the Union. These countries and territories, hereinafter called the “countries and territories”, are listed in Annex II . The purpose of association will be to promote the social and economic development of the countries and territories and to establish close economic relations between them and the Union. Association shall serve primarily to further the interests and prosperity of the inhabitants of these countries and territories in order to lead them to the economic, social and cultural development to which they aspire.

As to the listed United Kingdom Overseas Countries and Territories to which Title IV of Part III of the Constitution applies: Anguilla, Cayman Island, Falkland Islands, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands, Montserrat, Pitcairn, St. Helena and Dependencies, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territories, Turks and Caicos Islands, British Virgin Islands and Bermuda.

"Just rejoice at that news. . ."



Post a comment

<< Home

Listed on BlogShares